Saturday, April 30, 2011

Calm

In the afternoon stillness the anchorage at Anegada takes on the look of an infinity pool. Life is Good.

Friday, April 29, 2011

Roofs With A View

The tiny island of Marina Cay has it's own mini resort with an outstanding view. It's all here, caribbean colors, solitude, sunshine and an ice cold Caribe.

Thursday, April 28, 2011

Blue On Blue

A little bit of that Caribbean bliss at Marina Cay, BVI. Life is Good.

Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Jost Van Dyke

The morning light sparkles on the anchorage of "Great Harbor" on the island of Jost Van Dyke. Sparsely populated, small and out of the way, the island is hugely popular with bareboaters who flock to the handful of beach bar shacks that line the shore. The "Soggy Dollar Bar" and the now tired and well worn "Foxxy's" are island icons.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Anegada Sunset

The island of Anegada is the "holy grail" of BVI destinations for many bare-boaters. At it's highest point Anegada is only 24 feet above sea level, it is the farthest out in the island chain and the approach is shallow and treacherous. The sunsets and the world famous huge and delicious lobsters are what make the nautical challenge worthwhile!

Monday, April 25, 2011

Harbor Dawn

This picture shows the only peaceful moment of the day. After a week of boating through the BVI's we returned to port in Tortola to begin the arduous process of "clearing customs". The customs procedure involves a hurry-up and wait approach and requires hours of standing in ill defined lines. Disgruntled and annoyed civil servants handle the hordes of travelers single handedly on both sides of the border ( as in ONE person to process hundreds). But..what the heck, the week was worth it! :-)

Friday, April 22, 2011

Thursday, April 21, 2011

Tuesday, April 19, 2011

Sunday, April 17, 2011

Airboat Adventures

Flying across the water is the only way to travel when water depths drop rapidly!

Saturday, April 16, 2011

Fishing and Beaching

I can't think of a better way to work on a tan. Another picture perfect day on Jupiter Island...Life is Good!

Friday, April 15, 2011

Anticipation

An early departure filled with that "fishing anticipation" that somehow survived childhood.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

The Dunes

The beach dunes at Jupiter, a parting shot as we prepared to say farewell.

Wednesday, April 13, 2011

Tuesday, April 12, 2011

Sunrise At The Jetty

Florida: where the temperature is still in the upper 80's...Another day, another sunrise over Jupiter Inlet. :-)

Monday, April 11, 2011

Amtrak Autotrain

The most stress free method of getting one's car from mid-Florida to Washington, D.C. For 18 hours the Autotrain will chug, sway and rock both passengers and their cars for 900 miles. Gotta love that whole "rhythm of the rails" thing!

Sunday, April 10, 2011

Classic Florida

The "Jolly Gator Fish Camp Bar and Grill"...On a back road, on the way home, sits a slice of Americana Florida style. The freshly caught grouper sandwich combined with an ice cold beer was heavenly. The meal was enhanced by the setting, more genuine than nostalgic it was lunch in another era! :-)

Saturday, April 09, 2011

Friday, April 08, 2011

Sweet Sunrise

We are preparing to journey back north over the weekend. This adventure began with a Long Island sunrise back in January, somehow a parting shot of Jupiter Inlet at dawn seemed to bring me full circle. Life is Good!

Thursday, April 07, 2011

Change In The Weather

I was reminded that Florida weather is not always bright sunshine and blue skies. Our picture perfect boating day was rudely and violently interrupted with this very dramatic and fast moving storm. I was almost sure that I heard someone calling for "Auntie M" as we ran into the wind to reach the car. :-)

Wednesday, April 06, 2011

Chico Rembered

Hard to believe that it's been two years. You enhanced my life, you were the truest of friends and the laughter that we shared can never be duplicated. Forever standing out in the crowd..a "B" in a world full with A's. You will be forever missed as you made a huge difference in all who knew you.

Tuesday, April 05, 2011

Jupiter Light

My last trip out Jupiter Inlet for this season brings on feelings of sadness and a desire to "stay". The fishing however, was a joy in spite of the rough seas.

Monday, April 04, 2011

Sunday, April 03, 2011

Saturday Traffic

Combine a perfect weather day, aqua blue intracoastal water and boaters with the day off ...what do you get? A poster for that Boating Safety Course. :-)

Saturday, April 02, 2011

Friday, April 01, 2011

April Sunrise

No Joke, April 1st and it's time to turn the page on the calendar. While it is still snowing in the northeast (for real!), thoughts here turn to baseball, flowers and Easter bonnets. I am also in the midst of denial and avoidance as migratory plans for this snowbird to head north are unavoidable.