Sunday, October 31, 2010

Bethesda Fountain

Central park's "Angel of the Waters" has it's share of history. The fountain is one of the more popular weekend destinations in the park drawing new brides, musicians and large bubble makers!

Saturday, October 30, 2010

Friday, October 29, 2010

Barred owl

Not to be confused with the Barn Owl, the Barred Owl certainly has a face full of character!

Thursday, October 28, 2010

The Violinist

Central Park is full of nice surprises and some rather decent talent! (Best in large view)

Wednesday, October 27, 2010

Slideshow of Portugal Photos

Bacalhau Market

Salted and dried cod, aka: Bacalhau, is a mainstay of the Portuguese diet. Locals like to boast that there are 365 recipes for the re-constituted fish. Unfortunately, I think they are correct.

Tuesday, October 26, 2010

American Kestril

Up close and personal...Like some other raptors Kestrils have adapted well to living side by side with their human neighbors. This guy was not the least timid as he posed for my shot!

Monday, October 25, 2010

Sunday In The Park

A perfect October Sunday in Central park. Seventy degrees, clear skies, beautiful color and everyone is in a good mood! Life is good. :-)

Saturday, October 23, 2010

Friday, October 22, 2010

Streets Of Evora

Narrow streets, expensive fuel and lack of parking space make walking the preferred mode of transportation in most small Portuguese towns. One sees few obese locals as walking the hilly terrain seems to be a very effective calorie burning activity!

Thursday, October 21, 2010

Impressive View

The Algarve with it's seaside towns and sweeping vistas is hard to resist. (best in larger format, click on the image!)

Wednesday, October 20, 2010

Morning Walk

"Tourists don't know where they have been, Travelers don't know where they are going". Theroux

Tuesday, October 19, 2010

Fortress Cities

Pre-Home Land Security technology was primitive yet effective! Obidous, Portugal...

Sunday, October 17, 2010

Castle With A View

Holding the "high ground" has always had it's advantages. Sintra's Moorish castle remains impressive since it's construction in the 8th century A.D.

Saturday, October 16, 2010

Sagres Splash

Serious surf at Sagres' 600 foot cliffs. In the large view the scale is more evident as people can be seen above the crashing wave. Impressive sight for sure....

Friday, October 15, 2010

Capela dos Ossos

In the town of Evora one can find the Chapel Of Bones. The Franciscans of the 16th Century solved a land use problem by consolidating some 42 cemeteries and using human remains in their chapel construction process. The creative and morbid chapel is located in the Church of St. Francis. (see larger view)

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Light In The Palace

"Next door to the nursery just down the hall
A strange new sound you never heard before
A strange new sound that makes boys explore"..... The Greatest Discovery....Elton John

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Sagres, Portugal

For many centuries this was the end of the "known" western world. Sagres is Portugal's southwestern most point of land.

Saturday, October 09, 2010

Thursday, October 07, 2010

Tuesday, October 05, 2010

Modern Lisbon

While preservation is a top priority and cultural links to the past are important, Lisbon has also been moving ahead. The Oriente section of the city is most certainly on the cutting edge of the future.

Monday, October 04, 2010

Gilded Cafes

Long Before Starbucks serving a cup of coffee was an art. Cafe' A Brasilera is one of Lisbon's iconic destinations for coffee and a sweet pastry.

Sunday, October 03, 2010


The site of pilgrimage, meditation and prayer, Fatima is a very special slice of Portugal. The Basilica holds the tombs of Francisc Marto and Jacinto Marto, two of the three shepard children who witnessed the Apparations of Our Lady of Fatima.

Saturday, October 02, 2010

National Flag Unfurled

October 5th will mark Portugal's Centennial. Preparations for the big event are citywide, a formal ceremony to unfurl the flag was held at Rua Augusta. Lisbon is in a rather festive mood!

Friday, October 01, 2010

City Of Hills

Built on a series of hills, Lisbon provides the visitor with surprise vistas at several turns!