Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Danielle and Earl

Long Island is experiencing a "High Surf Advisory" as distant Hurricanes Earl and Danielle churn in the Atlantic. Long Islanders will keep a nervous eye on Earl which is expected to pass perilously close to Fire Island by the end of the week.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Summer Reflections

Just looked at my calendar....Can that really be Labor Day Weekend on my radar??

Sunday, August 29, 2010

Friday, August 27, 2010

Shed Treasure

Old sheds, dusty and dark can be treasure troves of long forgotten items of gardens past. Something about shed aromas as well, earthy and refreshingly dank with just a hint of old soil and fertilizer. Sort of an attic for the garden....and well worth exploring once a summer! :-)

Thursday, August 26, 2010

Belle Of Fire Island

It's the only real "ride" in town and Ocean Beach's main connection to the motorized world across the bay. Life is good!

Wednesday, August 25, 2010

August In Ocean Beach

Fire Island's "Main Street", busy on a weekday in August will be empty weekdays after Labor Day. But while it lasts, the area has a festive and carefree atmosphere of ice cream and tee shirt shops. Summer to be savored... :-)

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

Monday, August 23, 2010

Sunday, August 22, 2010

Feeling Jumpy

Out by the Peconic River yesterday where this nervous guy sat still just long enough.... :-)

Saturday, August 21, 2010

Read The Rules!

Click on the image to see the larger version and to be better able to read the law of the land. Ocean Beach, aka the land of "NO" may be a local media joke but these folks are very serious. It's hard to imagine too many former communist countries where eating a sandwich or riding a bike could land you in jail (seriously!!). So, visit if you dare but don't bring snacks and leave that bike at home on the weekends!

Friday, August 20, 2010

Ocean Beach Express

An iconic Fire Island image as the ferry arrives at Ocean Beach. The total absence of cars and highways adds to the charm of Fire Island!

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Afternoon Marsh

Looking East towards Fire Island's "Wilderness Area" the view is miles of undeveloped wetlands, dunes and beachfront. (Large view is best)

Wednesday, August 18, 2010

Hazy Sail

A perfect sea breeze makes an otherwise muggy evening a delightful time for a sail on the Breat South Bay! Life is Good. :-)

Tuesday, August 17, 2010


Just where do they learn to pout? Is it a process of natural selection or are clandestine lessons in pouting given during the commercials in those kid shows? Pouting: somewhat of a useless social skill but hey, help yourself. We'll still love ya! (From the proud grandpa series)

Monday, August 16, 2010

Bay Clouds

A cloudy afternoon on the Great South Bay with a promise of some much needed rain for all of our parched lawns and gardens!

Thursday, August 12, 2010

Wednesday, August 11, 2010

Fine Dining

The original and landmark Nathan's maintains it original atmosphere. No stuffy pretense here....!

Saturday, August 07, 2010

Friday, August 06, 2010


Macro summer subjects are often overlooked! ( best in large format)

Thursday, August 05, 2010

Wave Runner

Summer visit with the grandkids, plenty to see and do! It's a cliche' and a fact: the do indeed grow much too fast. :-)