Thursday, December 31, 2009

Wednesday, December 30, 2009

In Disguise

At two years of age Oliver has grown used to looking into the business end of a camera. It's not a surprise that he's become somewhat of a ham lately. From the Proud Grandpa series...

Tuesday, December 29, 2009

Ornament Abstract

Today's post is the result of bitter cold outdoor temperatures, a macro lens and a tree full of ornaments. Winter is always a good time for indoor macro fun!

Monday, December 28, 2009

After The Big Day

The crumpled wrapping is in the trash, the company and the left-overs are gone. During the lull between Christmas Day and New Years we are left with new and fresh memories of yet another holiday season. The train set that still sits under my tree is a joyous reminder of the wide-eyed, enthusiastic two year old who has brought so much wonderful energy to our family.

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Outdoor Picnic?

The official tally for Long Island was 26.3 inches, the high winds created some impressive LIRR stopping snow drifts. Not all that startling if you live in Buffalo but enough to keep Long Islanders talking!

Monday, December 21, 2009

The Morning After

It's official, winter has arrived in all it's icy glory and Long Islanders continue to dig out from the worst blizzard in decades. Got to love that whole "change of seasons" thing...!

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Time To Get Away?

Open the garage door to find that the blizzard of '09 has hit Long Island one day before the start of winter. Fills me with anticipation for the upcoming winter season.

Friday, December 18, 2009


Grandma Alida gets the perfect Christmas pose. Christian and Connor from the "Proud Grandpa Series" circa 2009.

Thursday, December 17, 2009

Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Monday, December 14, 2009

Sunday, December 13, 2009

Eye To Eye

I could not help but believe that this interaction made a lasting impression on one rather young participant. Certainly a much safer view than in the wild!

Saturday, December 12, 2009

Keep Your Distance

Some close-up detail from the safety of my zoom lens, this guy looks like serious trouble. Grandson Connor was eager to show me his favorite animals recently, I much preferred his top pick the penguins! (best in larger view, click on the image)

Thursday, December 10, 2009


There is always something to roar about. Express yourself, be heard..don't take it lion down!

Wednesday, December 09, 2009


Gee Andy, thanks for sharing but I really only wanted to wash my hands.

Tuesday, December 08, 2009


December 8, 1980 Today, Dec. 8, marks the 29th anniversary of the death of John Lennon. The former Beatle was shot by Mark David Chapman outside of his New York apartment building, the Dakota.

Feeling Blue?

Christmas shopping starting to get to you? Getting dark to early for you? Weather forecast got you down? Look on the bright side, you could be stuck in the Milwaukee zoo with this guy!

Sunday, December 06, 2009


I made some new friends during my visit here in Wisconsin. Winter has arrived here where "cold" has a whole new meaning!

Saturday, December 05, 2009

Friday, December 04, 2009


More from the site of the former Kings Park Psychiatric Hospital....

Thursday, December 03, 2009

Afternoon In The Park

December always promises some radical changes in the weather. It may be awhile before we get more afternoons to just sit outdoors and enjoy comfortable temperatures.

Wednesday, December 02, 2009

Nissequogue State Park

It has been awhile since I visited Nissequogue State Park. The 365 park acres overlooking Long Island Sound is the site of the former Kings Park Psychiatric Hospital. Plans to demolish the numerous buildings that echo their depressing past continue to cast a pall over the otherwise scenic park. Sadly, funds to clean the site are not forthcoming and serious safety issues surround the derelict buildings. The location has become popular with local photography clubs.

Tuesday, December 01, 2009