Wednesday, December 31, 2008

2008 Farewell

As 2008 sails off into the sunset we yearn for a less chaotic, more peaceful and healthy New Year.

Tuesday, December 30, 2008

Monday, December 29, 2008

Angels In Brooklyn

The lights of Dyker many shots to go through after our tour of the holiday displays! See the post below for more... (check out the larger views by clicking on the image)

Christmas In Brooklyn

There has been a great deal of media hype about the electric celebration of the season in the Dyker Heights section of Brooklyn. After first hand observation, I must admit that the reviews are indeed accurate! For several blocks one can see a dazzling display of neighbor out-doing neighbor in what has become a rite of the holiday season. As Christmas slowly fades in the rear view mirror I was impresssed, amused, and fortunate to experience the results of what must have been hours of preparation.

Dyker Heights Display

Over the top for sure, every shrub, lamp post and railing are decked out for the season in Brooklyn's Dyker Heights section.

Sunday, December 28, 2008


Let the Holidays continue! It's a wonderful to see the entire family even if the Jersey turnpike is in the way!

Friday, December 26, 2008

The Gourmand

Lunch Christmas Eve with a happy one year old! Ollie is developing a discerning palate...

Sunday, December 21, 2008

Saturday, December 20, 2008

Let It Snow

Let It long as we have no place to go. On the other hand, last minute shopping just became a nightmare!

Friday, December 19, 2008

The Cove

A calm and quiet winter day as we await our first major snow of the season.

Thursday, December 18, 2008

Flanders Bay

Tranquil December afternoon in Flanders, well worth the drive out east! (Best in larger view)

Wednesday, December 17, 2008

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

Tree Spin

Experimenting with shutter Snoopy, Lucy and Charlie spin away in their Christmas bubble.

Monday, December 15, 2008

Ten Days Till Christmas

Mid-December and the daily sunset show is now afternoon event. For me, the silver lining in winter's journey is the gradual day to day increase in sunlight.

Saturday, December 13, 2008

Duck The Halls

...with boughs of holly. The Flanders Duck, aka "the Big Duck" or to east enders simply, "The Duck" has been decked out for the Christmas holiday. To me, however, the duck appears to be wearing lederhosen with Christmas ornaments. Perhaps there was some confusion with Oktoberfest in December?? Anyway...Season's Greetings from The Duck!

Friday, December 12, 2008

December Glow

Along the upper reaches of Brown's River the setting sun is framed by the front porch at Meadowcroft.

Tuesday, December 09, 2008

Pond Ice

A taste of winter...Our first real wintry day left it's mark yesterday!

Friday, December 05, 2008

Running Home

Taos Pueblo...A boy appears to be late for wherever it is that he needs to be on a dark and cool November afternoon.

Thursday, December 04, 2008

No Brains, No Headache

Out of town Thanksgiving guests can't resist the lure of the surf. Small details such as air and water temperature are obviously of little concern.

Tuesday, December 02, 2008

Beach Buggy Below

A hopeful surf caster looks for "the" spot. Truly a sea gull's view of Fire Island! (best in large view)

Monday, December 01, 2008

Island Deer

Curious and perhaps hungry the deer on Fire Island are even more approachable this time of year.