Thursday, May 31, 2007

Summer Feel

A day at the beach and temps in the 80's...starting to get that summer feeling!

Wednesday, May 30, 2007

Everybody Loves a Parade

I have to be honest. I really don't get it. Our little town parade on Memorial Day consisted of every fire truck from the station, 20 or so Boy Scouts and one antique car. Nevertheless, people lined the sidewalk and sat on the curb to watch it "all" pass before their eyes! Gotta Love it!

Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Parade Ready

Seems like every small town in America has a Memorial Day Parade that also marks the unofficial start of the Summer Season. I am inclined to think that this piece of fire fighting equipment has been in more than a few of these annual events.

Monday, May 28, 2007

Friday, May 25, 2007

Barred Owl

...another of the models from the Theodore Roosevelt Bird Santuary. A vanishing breed as farms become housing developments.

Thursday, May 24, 2007


Fort Pond Bay solitude in a lifting fog. Pretty as a picture...

Tuesday, May 22, 2007

American Kestril

At the Theodore Roosevelt Bird Santuary in Oyster Bay an American Kestril strikes an "over the shoulder" pose for my lens.

Monday, May 21, 2007

Give a Hoot

Great Horned an excellent model! The Theodore Roosevelt Bird Santuary in Oyster Bay, Long Island sponsored a photo shoot featuring birds of prey. It was a rare opportunity to photograph these beautiful birds in a natural setting.

Saturday, May 19, 2007

Work Boat

So much of Montauk has been "gentrified" that seeing bits of the original and salty way of life can be refreshing. No yacht this, yet somehow it is a pricless icon of the hard working East Enders.

Friday, May 18, 2007

Thursday, May 17, 2007

The Point

And then the fog lifted...While our stay in Montauk was a foggy one (no pun intended) there were breaks in the visibility that had us both reaching for cameras.

Wednesday, May 16, 2007

End Of The Line

Montauk Station...LIRR's Eastern most stop. A touch of fog seemed to add just the right atmosphere for this shot of a desolate stop at the end of the line.

Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Monday, May 14, 2007

Point of Contention

Opposing Interests...Plenty of tension at Montauk Point as surfers and surf casters world's collide. This fisherman was being careful and showed patient restraint as surfers (looking for the perfect wave) were crossing into the "No Surfing" zone reserved for fisherman. As the season gets into full swing this scene will be repeated numerous times, there is an active Police presence although it is difficult to patrol the large expanse of beach around the Point. (click for larger view).

Sunday, May 13, 2007

The End

Montauk Light (and Fog Horn)...The horn was getting a lot more use than the light on this day! Not a good day for vessels without radar!

Saturday, May 12, 2007

Lifting Fog

Spent a few days in a fog. Montauk was pretty much "socked-in" the past couple of days. Fort Pond Bay during a rare glimpse of the sun...

Friday, May 11, 2007

Fish Trap

Montauk...One of the last of a vanishing breed, fish traps in Fort Pond Bay.

Saturday, May 05, 2007

May Evenings

There's always a fresh sense of renewal that comes with the sweet aromas of an early May evening. For me, it's an appreciation not to be missed.

Thursday, May 03, 2007

Tuesday, May 01, 2007

Searching for Weakfish

At long last...A window of weather opportunity that matched the "right" tide! A beautiful early morning on the water. Score one Sea Robin and a keeper Fluke (19.5 inches! )