Saturday, December 31, 2005

As the ball drops I am filled with a mix of anticipation, reflection and renewal. For me, it is a time to appreciate life's intangabiles of health, happiness and loving friends and family. I look forward to the new year with hopeful optimisim and a sense of adventure! The "Journey" continues! Wishing everyone a Happy New Year!

Friday, December 30, 2005

Personal 9/11 pottery tile memorials....
Started by pottery store owner Lorrie Veasey, this fence surrounding a NYC municipal lot in Greenwich Village now holds over 5,000 personal messages of art for the victims of 9/11. ( see previous post)

At the corner of 7th Ave. S and Greenwich Ave in NYC's Greenwich Village is a grassroots 9/11 Memorial....
Tile Park is a chainlink fence adorned with over 5,ooo handmade tiles from across the United States. Each pottery tile is a unique heartfelt and personal memorial to the victims of 9/11. This on- going project was started immediately after 9/11 by a local pottery store owner in Greenwich Village. While politicians continue to debate the final form of the Ground Zero memorial, this small and significant corner has positive energy all it's own.

Thursday, December 29, 2005

Wednesday, December 28, 2005

Thin ice...
Winter arrives at Timber Point on Long Island's south shore.

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Sunday, December 25, 2005

Saturday, December 24, 2005

Friday, December 23, 2005

Thursday, December 22, 2005

Wednesday, December 21, 2005

Tuesday, December 20, 2005

Monday, December 19, 2005

Music For Sale...
New and Used: tools of the trade, New York City.

Waiting tables....
Picnic tables spend the off-season well above the high water mark at Fire Island's National Seashore.

Sunday, December 18, 2005

Friday, December 16, 2005

Ghost of Christmas Past...
Spending the winter on the deck of a closed beach house on Fire Island this riderless and rusting tricycle seems frozen in time.

Thursday, December 15, 2005

Wall Spirit
A lone garden icon appears to anticipate the coming of the winter solstice. Click here for information related this celestrial event.

Wednesday, December 14, 2005

Holiday Greetings from Bryan's Bridge...
Signs of the season adorn the bridge crossing between Bayport and Sayville, long Island. Bryan's Bridge, which spans Brown's River, was dedicated in 1997 in memory of local resident Bryan Schneck who campaigned tirelessly for the bridge's restoration.

Monday, December 12, 2005

Sunday, December 11, 2005

Early Morning Hunter
A Great Blue Heron using stealth and patience to find an early meal in the shallows.

Light Breeze

Saturday, December 10, 2005

Photo Friday Entry for 12/09/05...."Weight"

Ashley Jeanne
Resting dockside, Ashley waits for her crew to arrive at the West Sayville Marina on Long Island's south shore.

Friday, December 09, 2005

Historic Oyster House
This restored building at the Suffolk Maritime Museum was once Long Island's busiest oyster shucking and packaging site. Changes in the bay's salinity, caused by the hurricane of 1938, brought an end to the era of oystermen in the Great South bay.

Thursday, December 08, 2005

Just another clown on the train........
The Holiday Season has arrived in NYC!

Wednesday, December 07, 2005

Retired Clam Dredge..
During the vibrant years of the Great South Bay clamming industry this dredge could be seen working slow circles over the clam beds of the BluePoint Clam and Oyster Company's holdings. Today the dredge awaits the scrap metal salvage crew in her temporary berth along the Patchogue River.

Monday, December 05, 2005

Blue Snowball
The season's first snowfall converts a hummingbird feeder into a festive holiday ornament.

Skyview NYC

Sunday, December 04, 2005

Manhattan's East River
The North view, from the 59th Street Bridge.

Saturday, December 03, 2005

Late Morning Light
The November sun casts long shadows earlier in the day on Meadowcroft's restored front porch.

Friday, December 02, 2005

This relic of a clam boat, hidden in the underbrush, had missed yet another season on the bay.

Thursday, December 01, 2005

Hauling and stepping gears.....
The Suffolk County Maritime Museum in West Sayville, NY is a working marina. Hauling vessels and installing and removing sail masts is done using methods and tools that date to the days of sail. The nautical term for raising a sailboat's mast is "to step the mast".